Week 8: 209lbs (-7lbs)

I have a confession to make…

I overate two out of 7 days this week. Both times were around 3000kCal.

They both happened late in the evening, I’d reached my ideal calorie goal and somehow I felt bored/stressed/hungry and on one occasion I scoffed on too many biscuits and the other I ordered a pizza (not just any pizza, a LARGE STUFFED CRUST pizza)

*hangs head in shame*

So here we go…

Average kCal/day: 1984 and exercised 2 out of 7 days

Right…and the scales say….

Hmm…not bad, almost a maintenance. However if I’m aiming to lose 1lb per week, I’m now a week behind.

Lesson of the week: One bad day does not mean you quit

In the past, one bad mistake would lead to the whole week being sabotaged and me making false promises to myself to “try again on Monday” (why is it always a Monday for starting new diets?) Not anymore, one bad day means a small blip and you carry on the following day.

I’ll admit I was worried that my overeating would go out of control again, especially as it occurred twice this week. Somehow I did reign it in, but it was a close shave to that downward scoffing spiral that I did not want to go down again.

I read somewhere that your willpower decreases during the evening. It’s like a muscle getting tired after working out all day. Also as an “emotional eater” I think I need to be more aware of my feelings and find more constructive things to do when I’m stressed or bored – like drinking green tea, or distracting myself with a TV show or new book.

Non-scale victory of the week: First takeaway in 8 weeks

I’ve managed 8 weeks without ordering a takeaway, of course I did give in to the urge this week – but it’s a lot better than 2-3 takeaways/week. If I can limit myself to around 1 takeaway every other month then that’s LOTS better than what I was doing before I started right? Somehow this has become my non-scale victory of the week… I think I’ll order from that new Indian takeaway in June… (kidding!)

Next goal: Weigh under 200lbs

Leave a comment